The Gulf States Marine Fisheries Compact in Three Sentences

texas gulf coast marine maritimeThe Gulf States Marine Fisheries Compact is an agreement among Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida to “promote the better utilization of the fisheries, marine, shell and anadromous, of the seaboard of the Gulf of Mexico.”

The Compact is administered by a commission whose stated purpose is ” the conservation, development, and full utilization of the fishery resources of the Gulf of Mexico, to provide food, employment, income, and recreation to the people of these United States.”

The commission is comprised of representatives of each state who provide a forum for the discussion of different problems and programs of marine management, industry, and research and develop policy for consideration by the states’ legislatures and the United States Congress.

In our Law 101 posts, we define terms, phrases, or concepts with the goal of conveying core information in order to set the stage for more complex discussions.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s