Texas Engineering Disciplines

Texas construction engineering disciplines branchesWhat’s the deal with all the different types of engineers?

Engineering is a complex field. The Texas Board of Professional Engineers (the “Board”) is tasked with licensing and regulating the field. Currently, Texas does not license by discipline. Instead, all engineers have a blanket “Professional Engineer” license. This isn’t true in all states.

Although Texas provides only a blanket license, many engineers specialize and must become and remain competent in those particular disciplines in which they choose to practice. What are the disciplines? The Board presently recognizes the following:

  1. Aeronautical
  2. Agricultural
  3. Architectural
  4. Biomedical
  5. Ceramic
  6. Chemical
  7. Civil
  8. Control Systems
  9. Electrical, Electronic, Computer, or Communications
  10. Engineering Sciences/General
  11. Environmental
  12. Fire Protection
  13. Geological
  14. Industrial
  15. Manufacturing
  16. Mechanical
  17. Metallurgical
  18. Mining/Mineral
  19. Naval Architecture/Marine Engineering
  20. Nuclear
  21. Ocean
  22. Petroleum
  23. Sanitary
  24. Software
  25. Structural
  26. Textile
  27. “Other”

If it doesn’t fall under “other,” I would personally add “locomotive.”

We’ll discuss these disciplines in more detail in future posts.

In our Law 101 posts, we define terms, phrases, or concepts with the goal of conveying core information in order to set the stage for more complex discussions.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s